I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
10 - What is a framework for wellness?
0:00
-5:04

10 - What is a framework for wellness?

Welcome back to I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up. My name is Kara.

When I did my undergrad at Ball State University, the campus community made a big deal out of the fact that we lived in Residence Halls rather than dorms - because they were supposed to be places where we learned about all of these different dimensions of wellness - they weren't just where we slept and ate. I don't think it mattered what you called them but it was the first time I was introduced to the topic of wellness and learned that there are a lot of dimensions and frameworks for wellness. Today, we're going to get an overview of some of those and talk about one in particular that I like. 

The original framework for wellness - those things we have to be constantly looking after if we want to live in an atmosphere of happiness and growth - is called the Wellness Wheel. If you google that term, you'll find all sorts of images depicting the wellness wheel. Most wellness wheels contain eight dimensions which are social, emotional, spiritual, intellectual, physical, environmental, financial, and occupational wellness. Another very similar model is the seven pillars of wellness model which includes mental, physical, social, financial, spiritual, environmental, and vocational. A third model from the National Wellness Institute promotes just six areas of wellness lifestyle - emotional, occupational, physical, social, intellectual, and spiritual. 

And, finally, a 2010 book called Wellbeing identifies 5 essential elements: career, social, financial, physical, and community.  

In 2015, I read the book Desire Map by Danielle Laporte. I devoured it really and it's currently in my re-read stack. I absolutely did NOT follow the instructions in the book - as I almost never do. Instead I adapted it to my way of thinking and in the process, I developed my own 10 dimensions of wellness that somewhat align with Gretchen Rubin's Vital 9. It's my 9 dimensions - and Rubin's vital 9 we're going to be talking about for the next 9 days.

Here are my personal 10 dimensions of wellness:

  • Believe in something bigger

  • Make healthy choices

  • Celebrate each day

  • Build a lasting legacy

  • Show up and shine

  • Outer Order = Inner Calm

  • Create a beautiful life

  • Use your privilege to help others

  • Cultivate an attitude of gratitude

  • Find joy in the journey

Over the next 9 episodes we're going to look at each of these paired up with Gretchen Rubin's vital 9 - and I hope to help you develop your own framework for wellness. 

So, tomorrow we're starting with what Rubin calls Energy and what I call Make Healthy Choices. 

Don't forget to like, rate, review and share this podcast if it was valuable to you. Do you want to make sure you get every episode as well as everything else I publish? If so, then subscribe to my newsletter at https://iwannabemewhenigrowup.substack.com/. 

I'll talk to you tomorrow. 

--- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/message Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support

0 Comments
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
Living a life that is more authentically me every single day. Join me for thoughts on how to be more authentically you too. Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support</a>