I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
1 - The Origin Story
0:00
-3:22

1 - The Origin Story

In this episode, you will learn the origin story of the episode. For a close to accurate transcript, continue reading.

Subscribe to my newsletter at https://iwannabemewhenigrowup.substack.com/. Don't forget to rate and review the podcast and subscribe in your favorite podcast tool.

Hi everyone. My name is Kara. I'm a recovering workaholic who launched my own consulting firm in February of 2022 - just about 10 months ago if you are listening to this as it is being released. The last 10 months have  allowed me to live my life motto in a way I've never been able to before...but I'm getting ahead of myself. Let me tell you how my life motto found me.

This is the origin story.

I was in Chicago, IL for a conference somewhere around 2005. It was definitely March or April because I was there for a conference and this specific conference is always in March or April - so it was certainly not warm in Chicago. However, it was nice enough on this particular Saturday morning that I decided to go for a walk outside before the conference started. 

I left the Hyatt Regency Chicago and walked down N Stetson Avenue towards Millennium Park. Cloud Gate - the mirror ball - esque art sculpture wasn't there yet but was under construction and I had heard some of the attempts to block access to the usually open and accessible public park in Chicago and I wanted to see what the fuss was about.

If you've ever walked here, you know that there are a multitude of non-descript skyscrapers in the area. It's like walking through a valley of a concrete and brick canyon.

Walking through the street with these skyscrapers towering above can easily make me feel lost and removed from the experience. To stay grounded I like to look in the windows of the buildings. 

On this specific morning, I glanced in one of those looming anonymous skyscrapers and saw this graffiti style art hanging on the wall. The graffiti style drew me in first. But then I read the words and my soul knew it found its guiding mantra. The words were "I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up".

And, these words immediately became my life mantra. I use the phrase, "I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up" as my identity in many places online including my newsletter, my personal website, and now this podcast. 

This podcast is where I will share some of the articles I publish on those sites - usually with expanded content that's more exciting to me to speak than to write. I hope you join me in this next phase of my journey learning to be me when I grow up. 

Please subscribe to the podcast wherever you listen and if you'd like to get my newsletter, join us at https://iwannabemewhenigrowup.substack.com/. Every episode will also be linked there. 

--- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/message Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support

0 Comments
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
Living a life that is more authentically me every single day. Join me for thoughts on how to be more authentically you too. Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support</a>