I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
3 - What are values?
0:00
-3:41

3 - What are values?

  • Leave a voice message to respond to this series: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/message

  • Today's activity: What is the visual that shows how ethics, morals, and values and other important guiding forces in your life work together for you?

  • Today's question: What other meanings for values did I miss? What questions do you have for this series?

My life motto of "I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up" became a guide for how I live my life. But my motto is not enough. Today, I want to share some thoughts on the role of values in our lives.

Hi everyone. I'm Kara Monroe. Welcome back to I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up. This is the first of a series of episodes about values. In the series, I'm going to talk about:

  • what values are - including how values interact with ethics and morals

  • why values could - and I'll say should - play an important role in your life

  • how values interact with our goals to help us set boundaries

  • how to identify your values

  • how to align your values to your goals and actions

This will be a mix of just a little bit of theory followed by a whole lot of what I hope you'll find practical exercises and activities. My hope for you is that by the end of this series of episodes, you will know what your values are and have a solid place to begin with applying values in a way that feels right to you.

Today, I'm going to start off the series with what values are. 

To begin, I think that values need to be considered along with morals and ethics. In my mind, ethics are the bottom layer or the foundation of a pyramid. On top of ethics sit our morals. For me, my morals are how I put my ethics in action. Then, on top of that are my values. Morals and ethics come from a combination of culture, law, religion and spirituality, and other broad external forces. Values are much more individually driven. Your values will be unique to you. Values also can define cultural norms in families and organizations when used well. I won't talk about that all that much in this series but if you want to know more, reach out - and I'll be happy to dig more deeply into that. 

So, today, my exercise I want to encourage you to do is to draw or create a visual for your own life showing how morals, ethics, values, and any other important driving forces in your life work for you. Maybe instead of a pyramid, you have a Venn Diagram. Maybe instead of a Venn Diagram, you have building blocks. Maybe you have some sort of word cloud. I'm going to share a couple of iterations of this on my instagram channel - if you want to share yours - please tag me on instagram at iwannabemewhenigrowup or on twitter at kicki22.

I'd love to know if you have other meanings or thoughts about values that I missed? Are there questions you have that you'd like me to address in this series? Tomorrow, we're going to do one the very practical exercises which is a sort of visualization or meditation to help you find your values. I can't wait to talk with you then!

Don't forget to like, rate, review and share this podcast if it was valuable to you. Do you want to make sure you get every episode as well as everything else I publish at https://iwannabemewhenigrowup.substack.com/.

--- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/message Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support

0 Comments
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
Living a life that is more authentically me every single day. Join me for thoughts on how to be more authentically you too. Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support</a>