I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
5 - Checking In With Your Values by Reviewing Your Time and Treasure
0:00
-3:15

5 - Checking In With Your Values by Reviewing Your Time and Treasure

We should see our values play out in our lives. When we don't, we know that we are out of alignment with our own chosen values. Today, we're going to talk about two ways to determine if you're in alignment with your values.

Hi everyone. It's Kara. Welcome back to I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up.

I can't source the quote, "Don’t tell me what you value, show me your calendar and your checkbook, and I’ll tell you what you value." but it has been a part of my life since late high school or early college. We have three attributes that often get talked about in spiritual terms but I think they are appropriate to any domain - and that is our time, talent, and treasure. This quote covers time and treasure. Our talent is a bit harder to track but if you look at the calendar and the checkbook register/bank account statement - my guess is you can also see some ways of how you are spending out with your talent. 

As we just wrapped up October (if you're listening in real time), take a few moments to actually do this activity. Look back at your calendar for October whether that means scrolling on your computer or phone or turning the pages in a paper planner - look through it and see how that makes you feel. The past is in the past but it can be an excellent teacher if you'll allow it to show you its lessons and learn from them. Do the same with your bank account statement or your financial tracking software/check register. Do your best to observe this without judgment and without any shame. If you do feel those feelings, simply note them and then move ahead and continue your look. Press deeper to go past those feelings - acknowledging that you have them but not letting them derail you from making progress.

This exercise is a good one to do when you have fairly well established values. But it can also be a good tool to discover where you may need to update or clarify your values. 

And, that will be our focus for tomorrow - when do you get to a point where your values are stable? How do you know when your values have stabilized. Don't forget to like, rate, review and share this podcast if it was valuable to you. 

📰 Want to make sure you never miss a story from me? Subscribe to my newsletter  at https://iwannabemewhenigrowup.substack.com/- I send out a fresh new article and do a round up of everything I published that week. It releases for free every Monday morning.

--- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/message Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support

0 Comments
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
Living a life that is more authentically me every single day. Join me for thoughts on how to be more authentically you too. Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support</a>