I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
7 - The Values Questions Journal Exercise
0:00
-4:36

7 - The Values Questions Journal Exercise

Today we begin a series of three exercises you can use to find or refine your values. Just like the Ideal Day exercise I shared previously, these are great at any time that you're feeling unsettled in your life a need to gain a little clarity around your values.

Hi everyone. I'm Kara. Welcome back to I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up. 

Today, I'm sharing the first of three exercises you can use to find or refine your values. I call this one the values questions journal exercise. And, note to self, I need to work on catchier names.

For a week, 10 days, or even a month, spend five to 10 minutes writing answers to any of the following questions/prompts that speak to you. Oh - and don't ignore the questions that make you uncomfortable. Dive into those questions/prompts specifically because that discomfort you feel - it's probably your body and your subconscious trying to tell you something. Pick as few questions/prompts as you feel comfortable with but I'd say no more than five. And, you don't have to answer the same questions each day. You can pick five today, three tomorrow, and four the following day. The most important thing is that you spend five to 10 minutes actively writing about these topics each day for at least five days. 

1. I felt loved when...

2. I felt disregarded when...

3. I was able to use my skills when...

4. I am grateful for...

5. I felt challenged when...

6. I felt encouraged when...

7. I really enjoyed...

8. What was the best moment of today?

9. What was the worst moment of today?

10. What are you most looking forward to tomorrow?

11. What are you most looking forward to this year?

12. Today, I wish I'd made time to...

13. Today, I wish I'd not spent time...

14. Today, I wish I'd shown more kindness towards...

15. I trusted myself when I...

16. I felt valued when...

After you've journaled for five days or more, look back through your what you wrote and see what themes emerged. What do you want to experience more of and/or do more of? What words or phrases represent that? What do you want less of? What words or phrases represent that? What attitudes, beliefs, and behaviors are at the core of all of the themes that arose? 

From all of these data points, you should see that a list of values begins to emerge. 

Today's episode is sponsored by Anchor.fm

Tomorrow, we'll be back with the most challenging but also the most rewarding of the four exercises for finding your values that we're going to cover. The Reflected Best Self Exercise. Don't forget to like, rate, review and share this podcast if it was valuable to you. Do you want to make sure you get every episode as well as everything else I publish? If so, be sure to subscribe to my newsletter at https://iwannabemewhenigrowup.substack.com/. I'll talk to you tomorrow. 

--- Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/message Support this podcast: https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support

0 Comments
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
I Wanna Be Me When I Grow Up
Living a life that is more authentically me every single day. Join me for thoughts on how to be more authentically you too. Support this podcast: <a href="https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support" rel="payment">https://anchor.fm/iwannabeme/support</a>